Jazmín Berakha’s contemplative embroidery

The Argentine artist Jazmín Berakha has been featured on art blogs with her charming and inspiring creations for some time now. Although she works with different media, the artist set herself the challenge to explore modern art with a needle!

jazmin-berakha-multi-patterned-embroidery-041

tumblr_lkq9n4UaR71qjp6a9o1_500 tumblr_lkddd0muVQ1qjp6a9o1_r1_500 tumblr_lkdddiDiyE1qjp6a9o1_r1_500

When you look at her pieces, you quickly understand that this artist is fascinated by textile patterns. Whether it be abstract illustrations, which let you imagine a patchwork of textiles or women’s contemplative portraits, the analysis is clear: Jazmín Berakha is passionate about embroidery and lives in a very graphic and colourful world!

According to the porteña, her “work consists in exploring the possibilities of textile in contemporary art”. This is why she has undertaken the embroidery of fine and delicate glossy patterns.

tumblr_lwk6ks3aE91qjp6a9o1_500

Now that gets you thinking!

To say the act of embroidery requires patience is obvious, as is to say that craftwork brings you relaxation.

The creative process, slow yet meticulous, requires such focus that the artist who manages to master it can escape from stressful reality, and achieve a peaceful state of mind.

This process is similar to a meditative session. It may explain why Jazmín’s embroidered women seem so serene. When you observe them, you have no choice but to be struck by their tranquillity.

The artist believes that “there is no place to hurry”, which helps us see this set of embroidery as a call for full consciousness and contemplation. Taking this idea even further, we could even go so far as to say that she is an apologist for the Slow Movement, although this might be taking it a step too far…

One thing is for certain: Jazmín Berakha turns embroidery into a resolutely modern art!

jazmin-berakha-3

Jazmín Berakha’s pieces have been featured on many occasions in Buenos Aires, New York, Paris, Berlin and more.

jazmin-berakha-8

INTERVIEW

The first thing that comes to my mind is: what do you think about plain-coloured clothes? Can we find your obsession with patterns in your closet or is it just that you love to embroider?

I think that is it an obsession which is linked to my work more than my daily life. I’m not used to wearing patterned clothes.

Have you ever thought of creating your own clothing line?

No, I haven’t. I’m not so much interested in textiles as clothes but as a tool to build my pieces.

What is your background? What areas have you worked in before?

I studied a lot of things: art, graphic design, fashion…all disciplines that are directly or indirectly related to my pieces. As well as my personal work, I’ve realised (and I still do sometimes) collaborations with others artists: designing CD or book covers for example. Collaborating with people is something completely different from when I work on my own in my studio. Developing ideas together is both interesting and challenging for me.

How did it come to you? I mean, you could have used another medium to create patterns with thousands of colours, so why choose embroidery?

It wasn’t planned at all, the medium came to me on the spur of the moment. I had never been in touch with embroidery before. If I had to give a quality that made me choose it, I would say because of the texture: fragile and subtle, indiscernible but evident at the same time.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m preparing an exhibition in Buenos Aires which will take place in two months and for which I will investigate how to bring out the two-dimensional surface of the canvas and the patterns. I’m working with pieces, such as blocks of texture, and structuring them in different ways in order to create a patchwork of examples.

What is your working environment like?

I used to work in a studio, but now that I have a child, I work from my house.

What do you do when you’re not embroidering?

Everything, I especially like spending time with my son: drawing, reading and playing with him.

What makes you feel proud of yourself?

When I can see the concrete result of something that, at first, was a germ, an imprecise idea that I was able to develop and give form.

What is your favourite district in Buenos Aires?

Hmm, there are some places that I really like but I don’t think I have a favourite district in Buenos Aires.

In your opinion, is it difficult to be an artist in Buenos Aires?

Easy or difficult, it depends of the point of view. According to some European or North American standards, it is difficult to be an artist in Buenos Aires. But this difficulty gives you such a desire to work, which involves making a huge effort to reach each step, without any guarantees or support. This generates a great variety of options that a stable system would not permit.

tumblr_lkddjr2HKW1qjp6a9o1_500

If you want to see more pieces from Jazmín Berakha

>> 2 sites: her website and her blog !

tumblr_lkq9kcMkFe1qjp6a9o1_400

Leave a Reply

